Changes in Translation

Translation work has changed.

In 1983, I started doing translation with a manual typewriter, and for backup, I used carbon paper (Google those, kids). Now I translate on a Mac Powerbook and I send an email attachment to back up my files.

I used to use these thick books called Exegetical Helps. Now I use software called Translator’s Workplace, which contains thousands of titles. Seachable. Lighting fast.

But there is still a use for those bulky old volumes…

…I set my flatscreen monitor on Volumes 1 and 2 of the on the Exegetical Helps on Luke. So with another thin volume, so the screen is level with my eyes. Just right.

About billdavisthoughts

From San Diego, CA. I've been a missionary and Bible translator in the Philippines for over 30 years and have travelled as a language learning consultant to 15 countries. I play piano and guitar. I write, read voraciously and love to work on word puzzles. Married for 35 years, we have two daughters and two grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Language & Translation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changes in Translation

  1. I LOVE this, Bill — how funny!! Love your blue jeans background, too! 🙂 Do you remember the days of the IBM cards, too? Praise the Lord for how He has used you and Donna all these years!

Leave a Reply

